jump to navigation

Director’s Cut Interview September 1, 2009

Posted by William J. Meyer in Jack's Videos.
trackback

WPT

When I was in High School, Sunday afternoons meant hours and hours of Doctor Who on Wisconsin Public Television. That lead to Masterpiece Theatre and pledge drives. (Yes, I enjoyed watching pledge drives.)

So I’d like to think that now I am keeping company with Gallifreyans and Alistair Cooke, as I was just interviewed today by Charles Monroe-Kane for the WPT show Director’s Cut.

The Halloween Special will air Saturday October 31st at 10:30 pm on Wisconsin Public Television, and the interview is also posted on their website. Charles and I discuss The House That Jack Built and its self-ascribed genre, faerie tale-horror-romance.

I think the interview went all right, but we had to restart once; early on I started listening to my own academic-cinematic-jargon and that caused me to totally space out! Three-dollar words exhaust a man.

Click here to see some behind-the-scenes pics taken by dp and co-producer Jeff Lyon. Props to Jeff for being on hand and for not breaking my iPhone. :)

I’d also like to recommend two extant interviews from Director’s Cut.

The first is with Frank Anderson and Barry Poltermann for their excellent documentary The Life of Reilly. I’ve known Frank for many a moon and he’s awesome, a great animator and director, and he saw Herzog films in first release, so what’s not to love. See The Life of Reilly100% on Rotten Tomatoes! There’s a super fun stop-motion flashback; I got to see the tabletop set in person; pretty sweet.

The second interview I recommend is with the husband and wife filmmaking team Troy and Frances Perkins. I’ll never forget when Troy and I went to see Bergman’s Wild Strawberries in college, and later Soderbergh’s King of the Hill.

Anderson-Poltermann interview here.

Troy and Frances Perkins interview here.

-William, Director

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

