jump to navigation

Intertextuality and Post-structuralism February 22, 2009

Posted by William J. Meyer in Jack's Post-Production.
trackback

“Shut your mouth! Just talkin’ about an homage.”

Had a slow start yesterday with some maintenance to run on my 8-core tower of power. But finally managed to wrap up that crazy scene seven, otherwise known as the Confrontation. Capital C, please. Some shots had nasty, chunky edges caused by spill from the outdoor bluescreen. Other keys had some chatter that I had to weed out.

Early on in the post process I had toyed with the idea of an homage to Miyazaki hidden somewhere in the flick. Just ’cause he’s the bomb and stuff. I figured, you know, animate a cute fox squirrel running through the forest. How hard could it be? Well, that idea died a swift death. :)

Last week I re-watched Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind and I realized I had my homage after all. I had forgotten about those creepy cilia that emerge from the shells of the Ohmu when they communicate with Nausicaä. In the pic below you can see some art direction from scene seven that includes a few undulating wormy things. I hope they make you queasy too, but maybe it’s just one of my many hang-ups.

con09

-William, Director

Comments»

1. liebe - February 28, 2009

Sie haben eine schöne Seite!

[Danke! Tschuß! -wjm]


Leave a Reply

