jump to navigation

Roto-ing Down A Dream September 8, 2008

Posted by William J. Meyer in Jack's Post-Production, Jack's Videos.
trackback

I was talking to a pal Saturday night about the roto work I was doing this weekend and she said she hadn’t quite grokked the nature of rotoscoping, so rather than rev up Peabody’s wayback machine, journey back to 1915 and search out the Fleischer Bros. (and subsequently run the risk of interrupting work on Out of the Inkwell), I thought I’d record myself rotoscoping in After Effects and dare you to watch it.

In this video I am working on replacing the sky and terrain to unify the geography in this location with other scenes as well as, hopefully, clarify and intensify the emotions. To do this I need to cut out Jack and Liz from the original footage in order to composite the new environment behind them and blend it with the foreground. I condensed roughly 30 minutes of work into about 2 minutes and threw some funk in the background to help it go down easier. Are you ready for some EXCITEMENT?!

Warning: Upon watching this video your eyes may bleed.

P.S. Yes, there’s still some chatter to clean up and hair detail to bring back. :)

-William, Director

Comments»

1. Anita - September 8, 2008

OMG. That looks bleeding tedious.

I don’t know where you get your patience.

[I just put on some Kanye and it’s all good. -wjm]

2. Roto Artist - September 9, 2008

Impressive… Thanks for sharing your clip, I enjoyed watching it; it is certainly entertaining…

[Thanks for checkin’ it out! -wjm]


Leave a Reply

