jump to navigation

Happy Accidents September 1, 2007

Posted by William J. Meyer in Jack's Production.
trackback

Today began with a drive up to Beaver Dam to meet Matt. He was hand-delivering some of his prosthetics. Matt’s done some terrific work, but most of it I dearly want to save for the film and not ruin the impact by posting images here. However, I will include a tease in the, well, in the teaser.

A few hours later, Jeff and I stumbled across some interesting compositions. In fact, they were much more interesting than what I had storyboarded. Our first scene was in the tight confines of a bathroom. To sum the scene up, Jack is hiding from Liz. I wanted Chris to get from the mirror to the shower, and was having difficulty justifying the geography of the room and the real-world distance with the action that I wanted to see in the frame. Chris came up with a character-driven solution that will also be fun to edit. I guess that hardly constitutes an accident, and is more properly attributed to Chris’ creativity—but that one choice led to a short series of other shots that I had not premeditated. One such find that I rather like: Jack’s wedding ring hand in isolation against the wall.

Another welcomed surprise came from the proximity of the mirror and the bathroom door. When Jack throws his weight against the door, a doppelganger Jack rushes in from the mirror-world to do the same. I never would have imagined it; I’m very fortunate that Jeff found the shot. In the first picture below, you’ll see Jack having some problems in the aforementioned bathroom. Poor guy.

Later that day, Georgia went to work on the Disease, using the prosthetic that I had picked up from Matt. In the second picture below, you can see Georgia blending and coloring the Disease on Chris’ hand. More props to Georgia for her unexpected acting role in the film: she worked a dimmer and simulated the flash of a TV screen. She also sang some commercial jingles, but I have a feeling they won’t make the final cut :P

-William, Director

Jack, Freaked

The Disease, Second Stage

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

