jump to navigation

The Story Is In The Close-ups August 4, 2007

Posted by William J. Meyer in Jack's Pre-Production.
trackback

At work I’m editing various bullying scenarios that our client will use on the web. Well, as the director was reviewing my work he remarked about how I had assembled the scenes. “The story is in the close-ups,” he said. I like the sound of that. Of course, hallowed Orson frowned on them (though his is the most famous close-up of all, but his penchant for restraint probably fed into it), and I do agree they can be a crutch, particularly since the invention of television, but on the other hand, I love seeing the detail in human eyes.

On that note, I’m still struggling with the storyboards (which will double as our shot sheets). If you look below, you will see that I began using Poser for the ‘boards, but since it was taking too long and we’re getting down to crunch time, with the DP’s permission (Jeff again) I’m going with these humorous thumbnail sketches. I will say that one of the benefits of rehearsals has been its influence on the ‘boards as I observe the body language of Cerissa and Chris.

In the frames below, Jack and Liz discover an apparently abandoned toy house in a field. But Jack has a surprise up his sleeve…

I started to use Poser for this portion of the storyboard.

Storyboard Sample 1

As time grew short before the first day of shooting, I resorted to a quicker and less detailed approach using sketches.

In these frames, an enraged Jack searches for a makeshift weapon, and settles upon a beer bottle.

Storyboard Sample 2

In these frames, Jack flees the home he had built, hoping to leave behind his terrible secret.

Storyboard Sample 3

-William, Director

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

